Home The Band Discographie Online Store A little bit of history

In 2009 the only prog rock band No Name from Luxemburg exists twenty years. And this release has all neo-progressive elements that you found so much in the music of Pallas, Pendragon, IQ and early Marillion too.

Although 20 Candles contains some new compositions, you can consider the album as a sort of ‘Best Of’ for the twentieth anniversary. The idea was to re-record old material that was no longer available, but also to include new material and live recordings. First Night and Uncompromising are the new pieces both written in the vein of their previous released material.

The cream of the crop on this anniversary album is the cooperation with some special guest musicians. The additional saxophone solo on Broken Heart by Fred Hormain and the bagpipes by Jonathan Tilly on Battlefield certainly add a new dimension to the music of No Name. All together, this results in a very solid album with 70 minutes of the finest progressive rock music. The re-recorded version of the above-mentioned CD-single proves that No Name have reinvented themselves and are full of new ideas. Enjoy listening to 20 Candles a lot.

 They certainly deserve it. Just listen to fine songs as Battlefield, Mat Enger Tréin and Dolphins, Sharks And A Flood Of Sunshine. This is classic neo-prog in the vein of the bands mentioned above. If No Name releases more such songs in the future, they deserve to be recognized by all prog heads in general, but especially by neo-prog heads.

20 Candles 2009

1- First Night (06:35)

  2- The Summer's Already Gone (05:06)

  3- Mat Enger Trein (04:53)

  4- The Man (04:52)

  5- Merry-Go-Round (03:39)

  6- Orient Express (12:09)

  7- Broken Heart (05:01)

  8- Strange Decisions (06:40)

  9- Dolfins, Sharks And A Flood Of Sunshine (05:38)

10- Thoughts Pay No Toll (06:18)

11- Battlefield (05:38)

12- Uncompromising (04:31)